Mombasa County is one of the 47 counties in Kenya. Kenyans popularly refer to Mombasa County as County 001 because the county was assigned code 001 in the Kenyan constitution of 2010. Below is a summary of Mombasa County social, economic, and administrative status.

Geographical Size

Mombasa county covers a total area of 229.7Km2, making it the smallest county in Kenya. The land size is mainly composed of two landmasses; an island and the mainland that surrounds it.

Governance & Administrative Boundaries

Mombasa county is administered by County Government regulation of the 2010 constitution. Thus, the county is headed by an executive and a county assembly. Mombasa county governor is Ali Hassan Joho who is serving is second and final term as a governor.

For easy management, a county is usually divided into various administrative zones. Both county government and national government use these administrative divisions to govern and serve the populates.

Thus, Mombasa County is administratively further divided into constituencies and wards.


Mombasa county has six constituencies that include Changamwe, Jomvu, Kisauni, Nyali, Likoni, and Mvita.


Each of the six constituencies is divided into wards. The number per constituency of wards differ from one constituency to another. Below are wards per constituency.

  1. Changamwe: Has 5 wards namely Airport ward, Changamwe ward, Chaani ward, Kipevu ward, and Port Reitz ward.
  2. Jomvu: Has 3 words namely Jomvu Kuu ward, Miritini ward, and Mikindani ward.
  3. Kisauni: This constituency has 7 wards namely Bamburi ward, Junda ward, Magogoni Ward, Mjambere ward, Mtopanga ward, Mwakirunge ward, and Shanzu ward.
  4. Nyali: This constituency has 5 wards. They include Frere Town ward, Mkomani ward, Kadzandani ward, and Ziwa La Ngombe ward.
  5. Likoni: This constituency has 5 wards. They include Bofu ward, Shika Adabu ward, Likoni ward, Mtongwe ward, and Timbwani ward.
  6. Mvita: This constituency forms the Mombasa Island and has 5 wards. They include Makadara/Mji Wa Kale ward, Majengo ward, Tudor ward, Tononoka ward, and Shimanzi/Ganjoni ward.

Economic Activities

Tourism, hospitality, and transport industries have been the main economic activities of Mombasa county since the inception of Mombasa town. Others include fishing, transport, industrialization, and port services.

However, transport and CFS owners recent outcry accuse introduction of Standard Gauge Railway (SGR) as a threat to the transport sector that employed thousands of people both directly and indirectly.

The Kenyan government has recently directed that all containers destined to other towns except Mombasa be strictly be transported via rail. Such has eliminated CFS and transport trucks rendering these sectors counting losses.

People and Culture

Mombasa county people are known for their hospitality and humility. Let’s go into details of these wonderful people of the coastal city.

Population: Mombasa county population was approximately 939,370 according to Kenyan Census in 2009. Obviously, the number is higher 10 years down the line. We shall provide the updated estimates after 2019 population census count is out later this the year.

Residents: Mombasa is a cosmopolitan city that hosts people from all communities in Kenya and beyond. However, Giriama forms the majority of the residents. Perhaps, this is because Giriama communities are the indigenous coastal people occupying the coastal stretch.

Languages: Kiswahili, English, Arabic, and vernacular dialects are the main languages that Mombasa people speak. Of these, Kiswahili is the most popular language that is spoken from the streets and in offices.

Despite English being the official language in Kenya, rarely will you find Kenyans in Mombasa streets speaking English. And if you find one, most probably would be a tourist or a visitor from the countryside.

Kiswahili language is soo entrenched that indigenous Mombasa people use Kiswahili language proficiency to distinguish residents and non-residents among Kenyan residing there.

Kenyans who are not very fluent in Kiswahili are popularly referred to as ‘Wabara‘ a Swahili slung meaning Kenyan people hailing from upcountry other than coastal region