Kenya has had 3 presidents and 10 vice presidents to date. Below is a summary. 

President Mzee Jomo Kenyatta (1964-1978)

Mzee Jomo Kenyatta became the first Kenyan President in 1964 when Kenya gained independence. It must be remembered that Jaramongi Oginga Odinga offered not to ascend to the presidency until Kenyatta was released.

When the presidency came calling, Odinga offered to step down for Kenyatta. Jaramogi (12/1963-05/1966). Kenyatta appointed Jaramongi his vice president on 12/1963. Below are Kenyatta’s vice presidents: 

  • 1964- 1966: Jaramongi Oginga Odinga KANU
  • 1966-1967: Joseph Murumbi KANU
  •  1967-1978- Daniel Arap Moi KANU

President Arap Moi (1978-2002)

Daniel Toroitich Arap Moi was the second and the longest serving president of Kenya having served as the president for 24 years. Despite promising to follow the footsteps “Fuata Nyayo” of his predecessor Mzee Kenyatta, Moi ended up as an authoritarian leader branded as dictator by his critics. Below is a list of Moi’s Vice Presidents:

  • 1978-1988- Mwai Kibaki
  • 1988-1989 – Josphat Karanja
  • 1989-2002-George Saitoti
  • 2002-2003- Musalia Mudavadi

President Mwai Kibaki (2002-2013)

Mwai Kibaki Was the third President of the Republic of Kenya.  His greatest legacy is the economic turnaround after Kenya suffered economic melt-down under Moi’s 24-year regime. His predecessor was Daniel Arap Moi while his successor was Uhuru MuiGai Kenyatta. Below is a list of Kibaki’s vice presidents: 

  • 2003-2003 – Kijana Wamalwa (NARC): 
  • 2003-2008- Moody Awori 
  • 2008-2013 – Stephen Kalonzo Musyoka (Wiper)

Uhuru Muigai Kenyatta (2013-Now)

  • 2013-Now: William Samoei Ruto (Deputy President)

The 2010 Kenyan constitution create the office of deputy president. The office is the first of its kind in which the vice president is elected alongside the president unlike before when Vice Presidents were appointed. Hon. William Samoei Ruto is Uhuru’s Deputy President from 2013 to now.